Brave the Cold

 

IMG_6276.jpeg

Last week, I read Cheryl Strayed’s new book, Brave Enough. It is an excellent compilation of bite-sized instructions of how to live bravely. I have been thinking a lot about how to embody this idea into my everyday.

Many times our decisions are made out of what is comfortable and easy. I know that for me, this holds true in what I choose to wear everyday. My go to outfits consist of my favorite pair of jeans and the most worn in shirt I own. This is not because they are particularly flattering but because it is easier to wear what you are comfortable with rather than dressing and thinking outside of the box or at least outside of your comfort zone.

It is important to be brave and uncomfortable. Here are some items in my shopping cart that would get me out of my comfort zone.

I don’t wear hats…only a beanie on the mountain or when it’s really cold out but, I really do like this one. Maybe next time I’m in the mood to get a scarf, I’ll get this hat instead.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 10.01.23 AM.png

Sorel Wedge Boots

Man, I love these boots. A friend of mine who had bought them a year ago raves about their comfort, that they are waterproof and they are actually very flattering. ALSO, they are Sorel brand which is a very reliable company for long lasting weather wear. They are not cheap but, I think these are an investment. Hopefully I’ll feel brave enough to wear them!

For some reason, I have always shied away from a monochromatic look. It looks good on some but I have never felt bold enough to embrace it. I do however like this chambray dress–The only hesitation I have is about the price but it looks like it is an additional 25% off right now.

Last year I bought some brown leather pants from Anthro. They are the same brand as the ones here and they are quite comfortable and very stylish. The only problem was that I was too shy to wear them! So, this year when it got a bit colder I decided to break them out and got so many compliments on them. See what happens when you try new things? 🙂 Anyways, I would highly recommend this brand if you are considering some leather pants.

On Black Friday I did all my shopping online and found this amazing coat for a steal! I have never owned something with a furry hood and definitely felt a little self-conscious wearing it since it was a bit glamorous for my style. Furry hooded coats aren’t something that I am normally drawn to but I am so happy with my purchase. It is really high quality wool and keeps your warm. I got the burgundy color but was also tempted to get the blue.

ANYWAYS, the moral of the story is be brave enough–even if it is something as simple as what you choose to wear that day. Be you but be brave!

Leave a Reply

