Christmas in Chicago

IMG_3626.jpg

Christmas in Chicago was just what I needed. Utterly delicious, family time and lounging. We like road-tripping and saving money so we decided to drive there for a last minute holiday. It was a long 12 and a half hours but it wasn’t so bad and the weather really cooperated with us. Winter storm Goliath almost got in our way on the way home but we lucked out and the roads were all clear. Here are a selection of our days in Chicago:

Day 1: Christmas Eve

A Light Meal & Cookie Decorating ~

IMG_3595.jpg

IMG_3577.jpg

IMG_3938.jpg

Ballerina Mouse?

IMG_3943.jpg

Moustache Man

IMG_3944.jpg

Battle of Gettsyberg, By Lyle

 

 

Day 2: Christmas!

702d4566-a17b-4099-a4cb-e00dd9a5bb41.jpg

Aebleskivers Breakfast –these are delicious! Danish pancake balls with jelly inside. Here’s a link to a good recipe.

IMG_3598.jpg

IMG_3602.jpg

IMG_3952.jpg

We also had halved oranges dipped in powdered sugar. An adorable family tradition.

IMG_3596.jpg

And of course, with our bellies full we are ready for present time!
IMG_3955.jpg

My favorite gift I gave this year was a watercolor painting. I was so nervous to give something I had created on my own but I was so glad I did. I was so flattered–they put it up in their kitchen right away. It gave me some confidence in my work going into 2016!

IMG_3963.jpg

What do you do after opening presents and lounging all day? Eat a delicious feast. Wish I had captured a comprehensive picture of the food but I was too distracted by the meal. Here was the setup. I loved the table settings. I’m excited to grow a collection of my own (someday!).

IMG_3618.jpg

After our lunch we were so stuffed that we had to get out for a walk in the prairie. We were blessed to have such beautiful weather that day!

IMG_3619.jpg

IMG_3621.jpg

Lyle & Dunkle (The Dog)

IMG_3624.jpg

Day 3: Milwaukee, WI

On our final day we took a mini day trip to Milwaukee, WI. I was surprised to find out that it wasn’t too far from northern Chicago suburbs. Now, I have crossed off one of my states I want to visit. Check out my post on my USA travels.

We started our day out visiting the Milwakuee Art Museum. I really enjoyed their contemporary art. Some of my favorite pieces-IMG_20151226_113640542.jpgIMG_20151226_113906020_HDR.jpgIMG_20151226_121345588.jpgIMG_20151226_123522675_HDR.jpgIMG_20151226_123556376_HDR.jpg

After browsing art for a while our stomachs were getting rumbly. We went to Uber Tap Room & Cheese Bar in downtown Milwaukee. SO GOOD. And very reasonably priced! Also, how can you go wrong with Wisconsin beer, cheese and salami?

IMG_3974.jpg

IMG_3977.jpg

IMG_3978.jpg

All in all, it was a great trip with much needed family time, laughs and excellent food. Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

