Pesto Please!

IMG_4408

For the last couple summers I have meant to make a big batch of pesto and this year, I finally got around to it. I wanted enough so it could last me through the whole year because I am a pesto fanatic. Love it on toast, pasta, mixing it with sauces, on pizza and more. If you like pesto (even just a little bit!) you should try out this recipe–

Start to finish in 20 min!

Ingredients: 

  • 9 garlic cloves
  • 1 cup pine nuts
  • 6 cups basil (I used Thai basil which makes the pesto a bit sweeter)
  • Olive Oil (half cup)
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • pepper
Instructions
Remove all the leaves from the stems, place in bowl and wash throughly. IMG_4398
Add all the chopped garlic…IMG_4399
…and then the pine nuts.IMG_4402
Transfer into a food processor and add a bit of pepper. I kinda mix in the basil as I went since my food processor was a little bit too small.
IMG_4405
Add in olive oil as you go and it should appear something like this–
IMG_4403
Scrape down the sides and chop until it is the consistency you prefer. Then, add in the parmesan. Some people prefer having the parmesan added in by hand at the very end but since my parmesan wasn’t grated very finely I decided to throw it into the food processor.IMG_4407
Chop away and enjoy 🙂 Fresh pesto should keep well in the fridge for a few days but make sure you cover it.  I decided to freeze mine so I can enjoy this summery pesto all year long.
IMG_4410
3 thoughts on “Pesto Please!

Leave a Reply

